SAC announces all-conference teams

ROCK HILL, SC – The Brevard College men’s soccer seniors were recognized today as the SAC announced the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches of the South Atlantic Conference. Henri Erti, Niclas Stolt, Renato Barbosa, and Miro Mustonen were all recognized as they have concluded their final games as members of the Brevard College men’s soccer team.

Anderson University junior forward Lasse Sohrweide, who led the South Atlantic Conference in assists per match, was named the 2010 Men’s Soccer Player of the Year, while Wingate University Coach Gary Hamill was named Men’s Soccer Coach of the Year and Mars Hill’s Richard Osterloh was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year, the league announced.

The Scholar Athlete Award for men’s soccer went to Aaron McKenna of Lincoln Memorial University.

Sohrweide, from Flensberg, Germany (Foerdegyu Flensberg) helped lead Anderson a third-place finish in the Trojans’ first season as a SAC member. He averaged .59 assists per match and was second in the league with 1.88 points per match.

Hamill guided the Bulldogs to their fourth conference championship, and first since 2001. Hamill, the SAC’s coaching leader in overall victories and conference victories, wins the award for the fourth time in his career.

Osterloh, a freshman forward from Sao Paulo, Brazil (Colegio Emece) led the conference with 2.56 points per game and 1.11 goals per game.

Conference co-champion Wingate led the way with six selections on the All-Conference team. Midfielder Luke Mulholland, the 2009 SAC Player of the Year, is joined on the first team by forward Jamie McKenna, defender Gui Andrade and goalkeeper Joey Calandra. Forward Gui Lima and defender Jack Vundum were named to the second team.

Anderson had five All-Conference selections. Joining Sohrweide on the first team are midfielder Adrien Moufflet and defender James Moseley. Forward Clement Samson and defender Zach Denson were selected to the second team.

Conference co-champion Carson-Newman College had four All-Conference selections. Forward Robbie Hill and defender Matt Finlay were named to the first team, while forward Emmanuel Aboagye and defender Adam Thomas were chosen for the second team.

Lincoln Memorial University also placed four on the All-Conference team. McKenna is a first-team selection at midfielder and is joined by defender Lucas Pereira. Midfielder Fernando Silveira and goalkeeper Michael Watkins were named to the second team.

Lenoir-Rhyne University had three to make the All-Conference team. Midfielder Oriol Cortes was a first-team honoree, while forward Nicky Matthews and defender Chris Wilson were named to the second team.

Mars Hill also had three All-Conference selections. Osterloh was a first-team selection, while midfielder Shadi Harb and defender Troy Chavez were named to the second team.

Catawba College midfielder Carson Smith was named to the second team.

The All-Conference teams are selected by the league’s head coaches.

The Fair Play Award for men’s soccer went to Lenoir-Rhyne. The award goes to the team that demonstrates good sportsmanship in conference play.

McKenna is a senior midfielder majoring in math and chemistry and carries a 3.946 GPA.

He is a three-time All-Conference selection and two-time All-Region selection. This season he has recorded four assists and was a key player for the Railsplitters.

He has been named to the Academic All-Region team by the National Soccer Coaches Association in 2009 and is a peer tutor. He was recently named to the ESPN Academic All-Region first team and is eligible for Academic All-American honors.

McKenna also gives back to the community, serving as a Lincoln Ambassador on campus and volunteers with Roho, a civic group that helps raise money for children to buy clothes and toys at Christmas, and has visited schools to help promote soccer.

The statistical champion and senior awards were also announced.

2010 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team

F - Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
F - Robbie Hill, Carson-Newman
F - Richard Osterloh, Mars Hill
F - Jamie McKenna, Wingate
MF - Adrien Moufflet, Anderson
MF - Oriol Cortes, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF - Aaron McKenna, Lincoln Memorial
MF - Luke Mulholland, Wingate
D - James Moseley, Anderson
D - Matt Finlay, Carson-Newman
D - Lucas Pereira, Lincoln Memorial
D - Gui Andrade, Wingate
GK - Joey Calandra, Wingate

F - Clement Samson, Anderson
F - Emmanuel Aboagye, Carson-Newman
F - Nicky Matthews, Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Gui Lima, Wingate
MF - Carson Smith, Catawba
MF - Fernando Silveira, Lincoln Memorial
MF - Shadi Harb, Mars Hill
MF - Jack Vundum, Wingate
D - Zach Denson, Anderson
D - Adam Thomas, Carson-Newman
D - Chris Wilson, Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Troy Chavez, Mars Hill
GK - Michael Watkins, Lincoln Memorial

Player of the Year: Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
Freshman of the Year: Richard Osterloh, Mars Hill
Coach of the Year: Gary Hamill, Wingate
Scholar-Athlete: Aaron McKenna, Lincoln Memorial
Fair Play Award: Lenoir-Rhyne

Goals Per Match: Richard Osterloh, Mars Hill, 1.11
Points Per Match: Richard Osterloh, Mars Hill, 2.56
Assists Per Match: Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson, 0.59
Goals Against Average: Joey Calandra, Wingate, 0.80
Goalkeeper Shutouts Per Game: Michael Watkins, Lincoln Memorial, 0.44
Save Percentage: Michael Watkins, Lincoln Memorial, .826
Team Points Per Match: Wingate, 8.38
Team Goals Per Match: Wingate, 3.0
Team Assists Per Match: Wingate, 2.35
Team Shutouts Per Match: Lincoln Memorial, 0.50
Team Goal Against Average: Wingate, 0.80
Team Winning Percentage: Wingate, .875




Carson Newman:

Mark Ketterer


Lincoln Memorial:

Mars Hill:




Joey Calandra
Erik Cobb
Harry Crosbee
Adam Cunningham
Stephen Kehoe
Jamie McKenna
Luke Mulholland
Jack Vundum
Dean Hopewell
Andres Jarquin
Horton McKinney
Nathan Arroyo
Michael Bibbo
Jorge Santos
Jonathan Caratella
Trent Bagley
David Contee
Friddy Hoegener
Jonathan Lukes
Paul Kneeling
Lucas Pereira
Aaron McKenna
Jimmy Vandenhurk
Greg Lewandowski
Dave Bailey
Martin Graham
Tom Heath
Kyle Winterbottom
Jordan Moore
Matthew Finlay
Ben Backstrom
Gustavo Jimenez
Richard Marquetty
Renato Barbosa
Miro Mustonen
Henri Erti
Niclas Stolt
Zach Denson
Adrien Moufflet
Adrian Osborne
Benjamin Pepion
Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube