Julia Gasston Earns All-SAC Honorable Mention Honors

ROCK HILL, S.C.- Brevard College’s Julia Gasston received All-SAC Honorable Mention honors for women’s lacrosse, the league office announced Wednesday.

Freshman, Julia Gasston receives the team’s first conference recognition after leading the Tornados with 16 goals this season and three assists, totaling 19 points for the season.

The New Zealand native joined the team in January and quickly became an asset for the BC squad. Gasston dominated groundball opportunities for Brevard and ended the season with 31 groundballs, while also taking 34 draw control opportunities for the team.

“Julia’s hard work and dedication has been the cornerstone of our program and her leadership has taken us through our season,” head coach Frank Rogers said, “We look forward to seeing her do even more next year.”

Other All-Conference Honorable Mention Team are attackers Meridith Jones of Catawba, Kim McConnery of Catawba and Allie Holland of Wingate, midfielders Victoria Thomas of Newberry, Laura Swanson of Wingate, Kaelin Evans of Wingate, and defenders Sydney Dishman of Queens, Rachel Hall of Lenoir-Rhyne, Erin Palma of Catawba and Leslie Valderramos of Wingate, and keepers Amanda Cotto of Lenoir-Rhyne and Mandy Lopez of Coker.

Award winners from the inaugural SAC women's lacrosse season were led by Newberry midfielder KerriAnn Barlage and Queens attacker Jena Ready, the conference's co-Players of the Year.

2014 SAC Women's Lacrosse Awards

Co-SAC Players of the Year: KerriAnn Barlage, Newberry/Jena Ready, Queens

SAC Freshman of the Year: Abigail Paulus, Queens

SAC Coach of the Year: Julika Blakenship, Queens

All-SAC First Team

A- Jena Ready, Queens

A- Abigail Paulus, Queens

A- Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne

A- Noelle Allen, Newberry

MF- Claire Wach, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF- KerriAnn Barlage, Newberry

MF- Brittany Larranaga, Queens

MF- Hayley Beattie, Lenoir-Rhyne

D- Aarika Kaester, Queens

D- Bridgette Larranaga, Queens

D- Akasha Kasper, Queens

D- Jamie Ryan, Lenoir-Rhyne

D- Kaitlyn Kimball, Coker

GK- Bethany Davis, Catawba

All-SAC Second Team

A- Maggie Masters, Queens

A- Alyssa Corace, Catawba

A- Kelsie Swanson, Lenoir-Rhyne

A- Hayley Ferone, Coker

A- Logan Bounds, Wingate

MF- Ebony Mills, Catawba

MF- Brittany Barnwell, Queens

MF- Kelly Dowd, Queens

MF- Mackenzie Baker, Coker

D- Tricia Powell, Newberry

D- Kelsey Perusse, Catawba

D- Kourtney Jones, Catawba

GK- Danielle Horoschak, Queens

All-SAC Honorable Mention

A- Meredith Jones, Catawba

A- Kim McConnery, Catawba

A- Allie Holland, Wingate

MF- Victoria Thomas, Newberry

MF- Laura Swanson, Wingate

MF- Kaelin Evans, Wingate

MF- Julia Gasston, Brevard

D- Sydney Dishman, Queens

D- Rachel Hall, Lenoir-Rhyne

D- Erin Palma, Catawba

D- Leslie Valderramos, Wingate

GK- Amanda Cotto, Lenoir-Rhyne

GK- Mandy Lopez, Coker

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles