Miller Leads Three Tornados to All-SAC Recognition

ROCK HILL, S.C.- Brevard College senior Alyssa Miller has been named to the All-SAC First Team as a utility player while senior Emily Boykin and sophomore Jamie Hrobak were named All-SAC Honorable Mention, league officials announced Wednesday.

Miller led the Tornados in hitting and finished seventh in the SAC, posting a .391 batting average in 45 games this season. The senior also led the Tornados in total hits (61), doubles (13), runs (28), and total bases (81) after earning a nod on the Preseason All-SAC Second Team in January.

Boykin received an All-SAC Honorable Mention after hitting .352 and leading Brevard with a .444 on-base percentage in 37 games this season. Boykin’s on-base percentage was eighth in the conference, and the catcher hosed eight would-be base stealers on the year, which was sixth in the SAC.

Hrobak also garnered an All-SAC Honorable Mention after leading the conference with 39 appearances, and finishing in the top 10 in the SAC in wins (16), saves (2), complete games (17), shutouts (3), strikeouts (181), and ERA (2.39). The sophomore finished the year 16-8 after earning wins in eight of her final nine appearances while helping BC to nine wins in their last 10 games.

The Tornados open the South Atlantic Conference tournament Thursday afternoon against third-seeded Wingate University at 12:30 p.m. from Dorothy Neely Field.

2014 SAC Softball Awards
SAC Player of the Year: Kelli Hensley, Carson-Newman
SAC Pitcher of the Year: Maryann Hoskins, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Freshman of the Year: Courtney Czentnar, Anderson
SAC Coach of the Year: Tommy Hewitt, Anderson
All-SAC First Team
C – Taylor Laskey, Wingate
1B – Danielle Swygert, Anderson
2B – Jamie Hockaday, Mars Hill
SS – Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne
3B – Haily Jarman, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF – Kelli Hensley, Carson-Newman
OF – Molly Child, Anderson
OF – Brianna Mulkey, Lincoln Memorial
DP – Kayla Saliga, Wingate
UTIL. – Alyssa Miller, Brevard
P – Maryann Hoskins, Lenoir-Rhyne
P – Stacey Houser, Wingate
All-SAC Second Team
C – Sarah Kenley, Lenoir-Rhyne
1B – Sydney Landreth, Lenoir-Rhyne
2B – Mellena Helms, Wingate
SS – Abby Child, Anderson
3B – Robyn Stanek, Mars Hill
OF – Taylor Rosenbalm, Queens
OF – Sydney Weatherford, Coker
OF – Kristen Stinnard, Catawba
OF – Courtney Czentnar, Anderson
OF – Carolyn Williamson, Tusculum
DP – Kaitlyn Bodine, Queens
UTIL. – Amanda Snow, Lincoln Memorial
P – Carley Tysinger, Catawba
P – Katelynn Howser, Anderson
All-SAC Honorable Mention
C – Emily Boykin, Brevard
1B – Caitlyn Lance, Carson-Newman
2B – Jessica Neidigh, Anderson
SS – Alexis Burrell, Wingate
3B – Sara Kelley, Carson-Newman
OF – Dakota Keller, Lenoir-Rhyne
DP – Ashley Oliver, Lenoir-Rhyne
UTIL. – Katherine Shumaker, Catawba
P – Kelly King, Tusculum
P – Jamie Hrobak, Brevard

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube