Moose and Williams Recognized at Annual BC Athletic Award Ceremony

BREVARD, N.C.- The Brevard College Athletic Department celebrated its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony Tuesday evening as the student-athletes of the 21 BC varsity sports were recognized to acknowledge the accomplishments of the Brevard College teams for the 2013-2014 seasons.

Darius Moose of the men’s basketball team and Katie Williams of the women’s basketball team, headlined the ceremony awards as winners of the 2014 Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Moose received Male Athlete of the Year recognition after scoring 20-plus points in 13 games, including two 30-point games. The Salisbury native was named South Atlantic Conference Player of the Week on January 13 after wins over Tusculum and Catawba.  Moose finished his season fourth in the NCAA in minutes per game and third in the conference in scoring.

Williams received the Female Athlete of the Year award after setting the Brevard College single-game record for free throws made, going 21-for-22 from the line against Mars Hill on February 5. The sophomore finished fourth in the South Atlantic Conference in free throw percentage after setting the single-season record for free throws made at 130 total and free percentage of 86.1.

Pauli Jussila earned the Senior GPA award this year, having compiled a cumulative 3.904 grade point average during his four years with the Brevard College men’s soccer team.

The full list of award winners:

Baseball- John Slade (Best Batting Average), Kevin Hamilton (Best Pitching ERA)

Men’s Basketball- Darius Moose (Team MVP), Alex Moe (Academic Excellence), Harrison White (Practice Hard Award)

Women’s Basketball- Katie Williams (Best Offensive Player), Madison Lenox (Outstanding Rookie Award), Shelby Wolfe (BC Hustle Award)

Cheerleading- Alexis Brigman (MVP), Mallori Lazich (Best All Around)

Cross Country/ Track & Field- Jordan Tager (Coaches Award), Heidi Kaartinen (Coaches Award), Erik Gibbs (Most Improved), Ashley Lowe  (Most Improved), Josh Mower (MVP), Heidi Kaartinen (MVP)

Cycling- Daniel Ennis (Mountain Bike MVP), Lewis Gaffney (Cyclocross MVP), Allison Arensman (Road MVP), Nicholas Jowsey (Road MVP), Sarah Hill (Most Improved Rider), Zachary Valdez (Best All-Around Rider)

Football- Landon Allen (Defensive MVP), Kelvin Jeter (Offensive MVP), Rommie Fairchild (Coach’s Award)

Golf- Sebastian Strehl (MVP), Diego Ortiz (Most Improved Player)

Men’s Lacrosse- Andy Reilly (MVP), Alex Bazzell (Unsung Hero Award)

Women’s Lacrosse- Heather Morris (Most Improved Player), Julia Gasston (Most Outstanding Player), Angela Canale (Spirit of the Stick)

Men’s Soccer- Augusto Isern (Most Improved), Ryan McPhillips (MVP), Alec Goettl (Coaches Award)

Women’s Soccer- Megan Jenkins (Most Improved), Elena Crowe (Coaches Award), Yuki Soga (MVP)

Softball- Casey Whitaker (Offensive Player of the Year), Jamie Hrobak (Pitcher of the Year), Alyssa Miller (MVP)

Men’s Tennis- David Taggart (MVP), Nathan Sabate (Coaches Award)

Women’s Tennis- Katie Daugherty (MVP), Michelle Prata (Coaches Award)

Volleyball- Kayla Hanus (Tornado Award), Aleks Vrvilo (Defensive MVP), Erin Rollins (Offensive MVP)

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube