Tornados win conference title in final tune-up for nationals

BANNER ELK, N.C. – In its final race before competing for a national title later this month, the Brevard College cycling team came home with a Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference championship at an event hosted by Lees-McRae College.

The two-time defending mountain bike national champions were led by a strong showing from Cypress Gorry, who picked up a win in the men’s A cross country race and finished second in the short track event. Logan Mulally also tallied a win in the men’s A downhill event for the Tornados, while Allison Arensman won the women’s short track race.

Brevard had 18 individual top-five finishes over the two-day event. Joining Mulally in the top five of the men’s downhill race were third-place Callum McEwen and fifth-place Walker Shaw. Shaw also added a fourth place finish in the cross country event while teammate Dylan Johnson turned in a fifth-place performance. Shaw and Mulally finished second and fourth in the dual slalom race as well.

On the women’s side, Brevard had its most impressive showing in the dual slalom, where Samantha Miranda, Nicole Miranda, and Sarah Hill swept positions two through four. Hill also had a fifth-place showing in the short track event won by Arensman, and the duo combined to finish second (Hill) and fifth (Arensman) in the cross country discipline.

Samantha Miranda placed third in the downhill race, besting Hill by one position.

With the early portion of the schedule out of the way, the Tornados can turn their attention to the USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships, held in Beech Mountain, North Carolina from October 24-26. The event will feature downhill, cross country, short track, and dual slalom races along with a co-ed team relay event.

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube