Taggart named honorable mention all-conference

Box Score

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Senior David Taggart was named all-South Atlantic Conference Honorable Mention for singles play after a vote by the league’s coaches.

Taggart ended the season with a 5-6 mark against each SAC member’s best player in the spring, and a 10-13 overall record at Brevard’s top singles flight.

The Belfast, Northern Ireland product earned the South Atlantic Conference’s men’s tennis Player of the Week honor once this season after posting three-straight victories. Earlier in the season, Taggart claimed a three-set victory over Per-Erik Soler of Queens who was named to the conference’s first team. In the fall competition, Taggart bested Coker’s William Marrafoa, named to the league’s second team, in three sets.

Taggart ended his collegiate career with 33 singles victory, 23 coming at the royal blue and white’s top flight. It is his first postseason recognition by the conference in his career and the first for the Tornados since the 2011-12 campaign.

To keep up with all the latest information about the Tornados, “Like” our Brevard College Tornado Athletics Facebook page or follow us on Twitter and Instagram at @BCTornados.

To read the SAC’s release, click here

2016 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis Yearly Honors

First Team Doubles
Sebastian Hall/Connor Kudrick, Wingate
Tim Stierle/Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Per-Erick Soler/Ander Vas, Quenns

Second Team Doubles
Leon Seiz/Tashique Kader, Tusculum
Jordan Monosky/Jacob Svantesson, Newberry
Jack Mordey/Mitchell McDonald, Catawba (T)
Tom Sizeland/Mark Watt, Coker (T)

Honorable Mention Doubles
Nicolas Ascarrunz/Paul Michael Calhoun, Anderson
Jules Athalis/Giovanni Setti, Queens

First Team Singles
Tim Stierle, Tusculum
Per-Erik Soler, Queens
Sebastian Hall, Wingate
Fernando Espana, Newberry
Tom Sizeland, Coker
Connor Kudrick, Wingate

Second Team Singles
Jules Athalis, Quees
Patrick Bauer, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
William Marrafao, Coker
Juan Sebastian Perez, Carson-Newman
Fernando Tous, Newberry

Honorable Mention Singles
David Taggart, Brevard
Filippo Pezzoli, Wingate
Andor Vas, Queens
Jordan Monosky, Newberry
Josh DuToit, Wingate
Jacob Svantesson, Newberry

Player of the Year
Tim Stierle, Tusculum

Freshman of the Year
Jacob Svantesson, Newberry

Coach of the Year
Adam Jackson, Tusculum

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube