Women's cross country battles at Gene Mullin Invite

BREVARD N.C. – The Brevard College Women’s Cross Country team raced at the Gene Mullin Invitational this past Saturday. The Tornados finished in sixth place with a total time of 2:13:20.82 for the 5000-meter race.

Milligan College’s, Hannah Segrave won the competition with an overall time of 18:33.49. Furman’s, Julia Rodriguez, 18:55.67 and Jacquelyn Crow, 19:08.53 would come in second and third place. Jacquelyn Robinson of Milligan would finish in fourth place with a time of 19:15.69, and Rebecca Cooley would round out the top five finishers with a time of 19:47.82.

Kaitlin Chaump would be the first Tornado in with a time of 22:45.14. Following closely behind Chaump, senior, Elena Raygoza (Quartz Hill, Calif.) would finish with a time of 23:04.12. Mary Gray Davis (Raleigh, N.C.) would improve upon her time from last week’s race, finishing with a time of 25:34.96. Rounding up Brevard’s top five runners were Olympia Poplin (Ann Arbor, Mich.), 30:05.34 and Rhyanna Hadden 31:51.26.

Furman won the overall team competition with 29 total points and a total time of 1:39:11.58. Milligan followed up with 33 points, and Jacksonville State University rounded out the top three team spots with 76 points and a total time of 1:47:15.65.

The Tornados have two weeks to prepare for the SAC championships which are scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 22 in Columbia, S.C.

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube