Tornados capture 2016 USA Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championship

Hill claims individual omnium first-place honors

SNOWSHOE, W. VA. – The Brevard College Tornados Cycling team left their mark on Snowshoe, W. Va., capturing the Division I USA Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championship for the first time in school history, in dominating fashion. While senior Sarah Hill (Bryanston, Johannesburg) claimed the individual women’s omnium.

“I’m floored and beyond proud of the efforts put in by our entire team and coaching staff this weekend,” said head cycling coach Brad Perley. “It’s certainly the culmination of lots of hard work over the years and it wouldn’t be possible without all the great people involved in this program.”

After a second-place finish in their first Division I national championship last season, the Tornados were hungry to build off last season’s incredible result, making school history over the weekend, posting 725 points for the nations top honor, edging out Fort Lewis College 676, Marian University 614, Lees-McRae 539 and Colorado Mesa University 482 in the team omnium results.

Hill finished her final run at the collegiate mountain bike nationals with a dominating performance, winning the individual omnium by 84 points with a 487-point weekend. While, teammates Allison Arensman (Valdese, N.C.) and Hannah Arensman (Valdese, N.C.) finished fourth and fifth, respectively with 302 and 277 points.

“I am so overwhelmed!” said Hill. “What an incredible weekend! Everything just went exactly right and I couldn’t think of a better way to end my collegiate career! Brevard is absolutely the best team in the entire country, and I am confident that I pass the baton onto some amazing riders!”

Junior Walker Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C.) finished runner-up in the men’s individual omnium with a 296-point performance, while freshman Carson Beckett (Benton, Ky.) capped off an incredible freshman nationals performance with a fourth-place finish.

Earlier on Sunday, Brevard captured the team relay national championship, as the team of Allison Arensman, Beckett, senior Zach Valdez (Hemet, Calif.) and sophomore Janelle Cole (Rockford, Mich.) made school history, becoming the first Division I team relay national champions in school history.

In Brevard’s final event of the weekend, dual slalom, Sophomore Kyle Grau (Terrace Park, Ohio) and Shaw finished sixth and seventh overall respectively, while juniors Callum McEwen (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Zach Hutelin (Plantation, Fla.) rode to 13th and 16th-place performances, respectively.

While on the women’s side of dual slalom racing, Hill finished 12th overall, while junior Samantha Miranda (Valley City, Ohio) finished 18th, ahead of the Arensman sisters who completed their weekend with 26th and 27th-place turns, respectively.

Team Results:

1 Brevard College 725

2 Fort Lewis College 676

3 Marian University 614

4 Lees-McRae College 539

5 Colorado Mesa University 482

6 Lindsey Wilson College 423

7 Lindenwood University 306

8 Savannah College of Art and Design – Atlanta 254

9 Midwestern State University 40

Men’s Individual Omnium Results:

1 Stephan Davoust Fort Lewis College 330

2 Walker Shaw Brevard College 296

3 Michael Sampson Fort Lewis College 263

4 Carson Beckett Brevard College 240

5 Ben Schmutte Marian University 154

Women’s Individual Omnium Results:

1 Sarah Hill Brevard College 487

2 Veronica Laughton Lees-McRae 403

3 India Waller Warren Wilson College 318

4 Allison Arensman Brevard College 302

5 Hannah Arensman Brevard College 277

Full Results:

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube