Slye and Moore Selected to All-SAC First Team

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Brevard College senior long snapper Eddie Slye (Asheville, N.C.) and sophomore free safety Ashud Moore (Ellenwood, Ga.) were named to the All-South Atlantic Conference first team; it was announced by league officials Tuesday afternoon as part of the 2016 SAC football awards.

“I am so proud and happy for Ashud and Eddie,” said head football coach Paul Hamilton. “Their commitment, leadership and loyalty to our 2016 football team was outstanding. They are both very deserving of this honor and recognition they have brought to our program and college.”

The Tornados are coming off their final year as part of the SAC before transitioning into a Division III schedule and the USA South Conference in the fall of 2017. Brevard wrapped up the 2016 season this past weekend at Mars Hill, falling by a final of 35-6 and finishing the year with a 1-10 overall record and 0-7 in league games. The Tornados lone win of the year came back on September 24 when they defeated the Apprentice School Builders 38-7 at home, celebrating the victory on WMYA My 40 television.

Slye – a 6-1 230 pound inside linebacker from nearby Asheville, N.C. – earns his first career All-SAC honor. Through 10 starts for the Tornados, Slye compiled 25 total tackles, 14 solo stops and 11 assists, while contributing one tackle for loss on the year. The Asheville, N.C. natives biggest impact, however, came in the form of the kicking game as the senior snapped for the Tornados 10 out of 11 games on the season for over 50 snaps, aiding Tornados punter Kevin Weber (Summerville, N.C.) to finish the year with a 38.7 yards per punt average. Slye’s impact was also noticed with Brevard’s field goal game, as the senior aided in the Tornados making four out of 5 field goals on the year, with the only miss coming from 55-yards. Brevard also finished the season a perfect 18-18 in extra-point attempts, tied with Lenoir-Rhyne for tops amongst all SAC opponents.

Moore – a 5-9 185 defensive back from Ellenwood, Ga. – also earns his first career All-SAC selection. In his first full year as a start for the Tornados, the true sophomore lead the SAC with 98 tackles on the year and 8.9 tackles per game, marks that both rank top-10 in Brevard college single season history. Moore also racked up a league best 68 solo tackles, tied with Stanley Jones for the tops in school history. Additionally, Moore’s mark of 68 solo stops ranks tied for 13th-overall nationally, while his seven pass breakups finished top-10 in the SAC and tied with senior defensive back Amir Williams (Athens, Ga.) 2016 total for fourth all-time in school history. The Ellenwood, Ga. native also finished the year with two forced fumbles and a solo tackle for loss, as a true sophomore, Moore was an integral part of a Tornados defense that finished tops in the SAC in yards allowed per game with 149.5. In addition, the Tornados finished top-five with 10 interceptions, fumble recoveries and 69.9 tackles per game.

The Tornados will return to the gridiron next fall as they move into the USA South as part of the Division III transition, scheduled to take place following the 2016-17 calendar year.

The complete list of 2016 SAC football award winners can be found below.

2016 South Atlantic Conference Football Awards

WR - Craig Rucker, Mars Hill

DB - Jay Body, Tusculum

QB - Raleigh Yeldell, Newberry

DL - Ray Edwards, Wingate

OL - Joe Hillin, Mars Hill

Todd Knight, Newberry

QB – Raleigh Yeldell, Newberry
RB – Jamel Harbison, Mars Hill
RB – Blake Hayes, Wingate
RB – Antonio Wimbush, Carson-Newman
WR – Markell Castle, Newberry
WR – Craig Rucker, Mars Hill
WR – Cole Watson, Newberry
OL – Joe Hillin, Mars Hill
OL – Daniel Owens, Wingate
OL – Bobby McNeil, Newberry
OL – Quinzavious Sands, Catawba
OL – Tyler Stasky, Newberry
TE – Baptiste Staggers, Newberry
PK – Caleb Baird, Wingate
LS – Steven Bartlett, Catawba AND Eddie Slyle, Brevard (TIE)

DL – Ray Edwards, Wingate
DL – C.J. Barksdale, Catawba
DL – Jimmy Holmes, Newberry
DL – Jamarcus Henderson, Newberry
LB – Kyle Kitchens, Catawba
LB – Carl Mattox, Mars Hill
LB – Joe Blue, Newberry
LB – Trey Evans, Catawba
DB – Case Woodard, Catawba
DB – Rodney Singleton, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Ashud Moore, Brevard
DB – Jerry Miclisse, Carson-Newman
P – Michael DeStephens, Lenoir-Rhyne

QB – Kyle Johnson, Wingate
RB – Romelo Doctor, Newberry
RB – Nelson Brown, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Lawrence Pittman, Wingate
WR – Jordan Berry, Wingate
WR – Sam Mobley, Catawba
WR – Braxton Ivery, Newberry
OL – Jaleel Roberts, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Austin Lewis, Carson-Newman
OL – Cabell Cantrell, Wingate
OL – Dakota Mozingo, Newberry
OL – T.J. Olsen, Catawba
TE – Kedar Bryant, Mars Hill AND Jake Jensen, Wingate (TIE)
PK – Brennan Lambert, Catawba AND Carson Wise, Carson-Newman

DL – Andre Foulks, Wingate
DL – Chris Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Brandon Williams, Tusculum
DL – Jamel Brintley, Mars Hill AND Josh Mills, WINGATE (TIE)
LB – Zack Singleton, Wingate
LB – Deres Benn, Tusculum
LB – Jamal Lackey, Catawba
LB – Lane Bloom, Carson-Newman AND Will Elm, Newberry (TIE)
DB – Rashaad Smith, Newberry
DB – Cornel Cheron, Wingate
DB – Chris Page, Catawba
DB – Jay Boyd, Tusculum
P – Jonathan King, Carson-Newman

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube