Thursday, April 22, 2010


ROCK HILL, SC – Brevard College junior pitcher Martika Elmore, and sophomore third baseman, Maddie Fletcher were both named to the South Atlantic Conference All-Conference Second Team, while Chelsi Mallory received accolades for leading the conference in doubles per game.

Elmore, who led the conference in strikeouts with 235, finished the season with a 14-14 record and a 2.93 ERA, completing 21 games and throwing two no-hitters. At the plate, Elmore recorded six RBIs, two homeruns, five runs scores, and nine hits in 34 at bats.

Fletcher, a pre-season second team All-Conference player, finished the season with a .275 batting average, 20 RBIs, and eight runs scored to earn a spot on the Second Team as a third baseman.

Mallory finished the season with a team best, .383 batting average, and a conference best 22 doubles (0.49 per game) to achieve the Statistical Champion Award in the doubles per game category. She also led the team with 24 RBIs, three homeruns, and added a triple and 20 scored runs.
The South Atlantic Conference also honors four Brevard seniors in Kristina Clayton, Jennifer Gift, Liz Houser, and Rachel Montgomery.

Lenoir-Rhyne University junior shortstop Kat Rivers, who helped lead the Bears to the conference championship, and Newberry College senior pitcher Amanda Huckestein headline the 2010 South Atlantic Conference All-Conference Softball Team, the league announced today.

Lenoir-Rhyne coach Shena Hollar, who guided the Bears to their sixth conference championship in the last 11 years, was named Coach of the Year for the third time in her career.

Lenoir-Rhyne University freshman pitcher Alex Smith, who went 18-3 on the mound with a 1.25 ERA with 74 strikeouts and four shutouts, was named Freshman of the Year.

Rivers was named Player of the Year after leading the conference with 141 total bases. She was second in the league with a.435 batting average.

Huckestein picked up her second straight Pitcher of the Year award. This season, she went 18-6 on the mound and led the conference with a 1.03 ERA while striking out 192 batters.

Mars Hill College’s Rebekah Huff received the Scholar-Athlete Award for softball. Huff is a senior majoring in Math and carries a perfect 4.0 GPA and will serve as Valedictorian for the 2010 graduating class.

She was a second-team All-Conference selection at second base in 2009 and is batting .331 this season.

Huff is actively involved in the Locust Grove church youth group, where she plays drums in the church band. She also volunteers as a math tutor at local high schools.

Conference champion Lenoir-Rhyne led the way with six All-Conference selections, including five on the first team. Carson-Newman College had five All-Conference selections

The awards will be presented Thursday after the third game of the 2010 Food Lion SAC Softball Tournament, which will be played at Wingate University.

The South Atlantic Conference All-Conference teams are selected by the league’s head coaches.

Regular season statistical champions and senior awards were also announced.

Catcher – Sarah Atkins, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher – Amanda Huckestein, Newberry
Pitcher – Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher – Brittany Blankenship, Wingate
1st base – Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill
2nd base – Carlee Carpenter, Lenoir-Rhyne
Shortstop – Kat Rivers, Lenoir-Rhyne
3rd base – Natalie Haithcox, Mars Hill
Outfield – Brittany Cherry, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield – LaRonda McClain, Wingate
Outfield – Aissa Gatewood, Newberry
Utility – Mary Shealy, Carson-Newman

Catcher – Bri Shoemake, Carson-Newman
Pitcher – Alex Smith, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher – Martika Elmore, Brevard
1st base – Sarah Little, Carson-Newman
2nd base – Allie Marshall, Catawba
Shortstop – Jessie Howard, Carson-Newman
3rd base – Maddie Fletcher, Brevard
Outfield – Carly Sabat, Catawba
Outfield – Chelsea Chipoletti, Newberry
Outfield – Whitney Durham, Carson-Newman
Utility – Meghan LaFevor, Lincoln Memorial

Player of the Year – Kat Rivers, Lenoir-Rhyne

Pitcher of the Year – Amanda Huckestein, Newberry

Freshman of the Year – Alex Smith, Lenoir-Rhyne

Coach of the Year – Shena Hollar, Lenoir-Rhyne

Scholar-Athlete – Rebekah Huff, Mars Hill

Statistical Champions

Batting Average - Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill, .464
On-Base Pct. - Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill, .504
Slugging Pct. - Kat Rivers, Lenoir-Rhyne, .839
Home Runs Per Game - Ashley Duckworth, Lenoir-Rhyne, 0.36
RBIs Per Game - Allie Marshall, Catawba, 1.33
Runs Scored Per Game - Kathryn Geouge, Catawba, 1.14
Triples Per Game - Jackie Adams, Lincoln Memorial, 0.12
Doubles Per Game - Chelsi Mallory, Brevard, 0.49
SBs Per Game - Jessie Howard, Carson-Newman, 0.73
Earned Run Average - Amanda Huckestein, Newberry, 1.03
Strikeouts Per Game - Amanda Huckestein, Newberry, 9.38
Pitching Victories - Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne, 19
Team Batting Average - Lenoir-Rhyne, .333
Team Slugging Percentage – Lenoir-Rhyne, .578
Team Runs Scored Per Game - 6.78
Team Home Runs Per Game – Lenoir-Rhyne, 1.62
Team RBIs Per Game – Lenoir-Rhyne, 6.20
Team On-Base Percentage - Carson-Newman, .424
Team Stolen Bases Per Game – Carson-Newman, 2.07
Team Earned Run Average - Wingate, 1.48

Senior Awards
Liz Houser
Kristina Clayton
Jennifer Gift
Rachel Montgomery

Carson Newman
Sarah Little
Jessie Howard

Brittney Thornburg 
Allie Marshall 
Kristyn Funderburke 
Kathryn Geouge
Callie Gordy 

Brittany Cherry
Ashley Duckworth

Lincoln Memorial
Devin Sponseller

Mars Hill
Ashley Angell
Lindsey Barrier
Tiffany Farthing
Rebekah Huff
Anna James 

Whitney Wiles
Stephanie Blazer
Jessica Reid
Sara Powell
Haley Watson
Kristen Hicks
Tiffany Pigage
Amanda Huckestein

Lynnsey Jett
Racheal Wilburn
Holli Cadenhead
Jennifer Turley

Kelsey Emig
Debra Grijalva
LaRonda McClain
Leyila Myers