Thursday, July 22, 2010


Gist and Simunyu lead a talented quintet of Tornados in the SAC

Rock Hill, S.C. – Brevard College had five players selected to the Preaseason All-South Atlantic Conference Football team, as announced by the SAC office on Thursday afternoon.

Juniors Michael Gist and Prince Simunyu led the way for the Tornados, with each being named as First Team selections. Gist led the Tornados with five interceptions and led the South Atlantic Conference last season in interception return yardage and defensive touchdowns on his way to garnering postseason All-SAC and All-Region recognition, while Simunyu led the conference in tackles for loss with 14.5 in 2009.

Senior fullback Neville Bryce and senior offensive lineman Darrell Neely were selected to the All-SAC Second Team Offense. The duo are joined on the second team by junior punter Eric Watts.

Newberry College, picked to finish fourth in the preseason coaches poll, leads the way with 10 members on the 2010 South Atlantic Conference preseason All-Conference football team.

The Wolves have three first-team selections, including wide receiver Brandon Bostick and offensive lineman Matt Holmes on offense, and reigning SAC Defensive Player of the Year, safety Ron Parker, on defense.

Parker ranked third in the conference in tackles last season and led the league in interceptions and passes defended.

The Wolves ranked first in the SAC in total defense a year ago, and could have another strong defensive unit, with four more preseason All-Conference selections on the second team defense. Newberry returns another star in the secondary in Kamaal McIlwain, who defended 11 passes last season and blocked two kicks. Also on the second team defense are linebackers R.J. Reeder and Josh Williams, along with lineman Derrell Kinard.

Defending conference champion and 2010 preseason favorite Carson-Newman College placed nine on the preseason team, as did Tusculum College.

The Eagles start with three first-team selections on offense, including Michael Tribue, the 2009 Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner, presented to the league’s top lineman. He is joined on the first team by running back Nate Inman and offensive lineman Kevin Day.

The Eagles also placed three on the defensive first team, including lineman Zeke Andrews, defensive back Mario Russell and punter Chris Jones.

Tusclum, which led the SAC in passing offense in 2009, placed four on the first team offense, including record-setting quarterback Bo Cordell. He is joined by offensive lineman Hannibal Ruiz, placekicker Gareth Rowlands and long snapper Skylar West.

Lenoir-Rhyne University and Catawba College each placed eight on the preseason team.

The Bears have a pair on the first team offense in tight end Devan Pointer and lineman Chandler Rearden, while defensive back Marcus Shuford was a first-team pick on defense.

The Catawba Indians have wide receiver Brandon Bunn on the first team offense, with three selections on the first team defense in lineman Brandon Sutton and linebackers Cory Johnson and Lakeem Perry.

Wingate University has seven preseason All-Conference selections, including three on the first team. Running back Vince Jordan and receiver Delric Ellington are on the offense, while return specialist Perry Floyd is a first team defensive slection.

Brevard College has five preseason representatives. The Tornados placed linebacker Prince Simunyu and defensive back Michael Gist on the first team defense.

Mars Hill College placed four on the preseason team, with all of them on the first team. The Lions bring back running back Jonas Randolph, the league’s top rusher in 2009, as a preseason first team pick on offense. Linemen Maurice Harris and Marzarius Samon are joined by linebacker Josh Baker on defense.

2010 SAC Preseason All-Conference Football Team
First Team – Offense

QB – Bo Cordell, Tusculum
RB – Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
RB – Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB – Vince Jordan, Wingate
WR – Brandon Bunn, Catawba
WR – Brandon Bostick, Newberry
WR – Delric Ellington, Wingate
TE – Devan Pointer, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman
OL – Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Matt Holmes, Newberry
OL – Hannibal Ruiz, Tusculum
PK – Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum
LS – Skylar West, Tusculum

First Team – Defense
DL – Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL – Brandon Sutton, Catawba
DL – Maurice Harris, Mars Hill
DL – Marzarius Samon, Mars Hill
LB – Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB – Cory Johnson, Catawba
LB – Lakeem Perry, Catawba
LB – Josh Baker, Mars Hill
DB – Michael Gist, Brevard
DB – Mario Russell, Carson-Newman
DB – Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB –Ron Parker, Newberry
P – Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
RS – Perry Floyd, Wingate

Second Team - Offense
QB – Cody Haffly, Wingate
RB – Neville Bryce, Brevard
RB –Byron Darby, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Andrew Courman, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Doug Belk, Carson-Newman
WR – David Pressley, Newberry
WR – Calvin Britt, Tusculum
WR – Rashaad Carter, Tusculum
TE – Grayson Downs, Catawba
OL – Darrell Neely, Brevard
OL – Zane Gibson, Catawba
OL – Ben Inabinet, Newberry
OL – Chase Gamble, Newberry
OL – Mike Arndt, Wingate
PK – Carlos Lopez, Carson-Newman
LS – D.J. Davis, Catawba

Second Team – Defense
DL – Qua Jackson, Carson-Newman
DL – Nelson Bullard, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Derrell Kinard, Newberry
DL – Jermaine Jennings, Tusculum
LB – Richard Walker, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – R.J. Reeder, Newberry
LB – Josh Williams, Newberry
LB – Zachary Norman, Tusculum
DB – Jumal Rolle, Catawba
DB – Carl Brooks, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Kamaal McIlwain, Newberry
DB –Robert Fletcher, Wingate
DB – Terrence Stephens, Wingate
P – Eric Watts, Brevard
RS – Deonte’ Gist, Tusculum