Wednesday, August 18, 2010


Brevard picked 10th in the Preseason SAC Coaches Poll

Rock Hill, S.C. – The Brevard College men’s soccer team opened up practice this past Monday as they prepared to begin for the 2010 Fall Season in their third season as full members of both the NCAA Division II and the South Atlantic Conference.

Led by seniors Miro Mustonen, Niclas Stolt, Henri Erti and Renato Barbosa, the Tornados look to bounce back from last year’s rebuilding campaign. Coach Juan Mascaro leads the BC Men’s Soccer team into their first scrimmage on Thursday afternoon against Montreat College, while Brevard opens up the 2010 regular season on Sept. 2 on the road against Erskine.

Carson-Newman College, which won the South Atlantic Conference men's soccer championship the last two seasons, is the choice to repeat and capture the 2010 SAC championship in a vote of the league coaches, the conference office announced today.

The Eagles received five first-place votes and 94 total points.

The Eagles placed seven on the preseason All-Conference team, including four on the first team. Forward Robert Hill and defender Matthew Finlay were both all-region performers last season, and are joined on the first team by midfielder Richard Marquetty and defender Adam Thomas. Midfielder Ben Backstron, defender Anthony Chiapetta and goalkeeper Jordan Moore were named to the second team.

Wingate University is picked to finish second with 89 points. The Bulldogs also received three first-place votes. Wingate returns midfielder Luke Mulholland, the 2009 SAC Player of the Year and an All-American. Joining Mulholland on the preseason All-Conference first team is defender Tom Poole. Two more defenders - Jack Vundum and Corey McCollom were named to the second team.

Lincoln Memorial University is picked to finish third with 76 points. LMU received the other two first-place votes. The Railsplitters placed four representatives on the preseason All-Conference first team. Midfielder Aaron McKenna and defender Lucas Pereira were both all-region selections last season and are joined by forward Fernando Silveira and goalkeeper Mike Watkins, who led the SAC in goals against average last season.

First-year conference member Anderson University is picked to finish fourth. The Trojans received 68 total points. Last season, the Trojans finished seventh in the nation in scoring and defeated Carson-Newman in the NCAA Tournament. Anderson placed three on the preseason All-Conference team in midfielder Adrien Moufflet, a first-team selection, and forward Lasse Sohrweide and defender James Moseley on the second team.

Defending Food Lion SAC Tournament champion Tusculum College is the pick to finish fifth with 58 points. The Pioneers, under first-year head coach Steve Voltz, placed forward Andres Jarquin on the preseason All-Conference first team.

Lenoir-Rhyne University is sixth in the poll with 54 points. Bears forward Dave Bailey, who led the SAC with 2.25 points per match and was an All-Region selection, was named to the preseason All-Conference first team, while midfielder Oriol Cortes was named to the second team.

Mars Hill College picked up 43 points to finish seventh in the poll. The Lions placed three on the preseason All-Conference second team. Forwards Rury Caulfield and Friddy Hoegener are joined by midfielder Giovanni Malnati. Caulfield scored 10 goals last season.

Newberry College is eighth with 31 points. The Wolves placed forward Adrian Ochoa, the 2009 SAC Freshman of the Year, and midfielder Nate Arroyo on the preseason All-Conference second team.

Catawba College received 25 points for ninth place, while Brevard College rounds out the poll with 12 points.

The 2010 season opens Thursday, September 2 with five matches.

The league's top eight teams will advance to the 2010 Food Lion SAC Men's Soccer Tournament. Quarterfinal play will be Wednesday, November 3 on campus sites, with winners advancing to the semifinals at the Manchester Meadows soccer stadium in Rock Hill, S.C., Friday, November 5, with the finals on Sunday, November 7.

Pl School Pts.

1. Carson-Newman (5) 94
2. Wingate (3) 89
3. Lincoln Memorial (2) 76
4. Anderson 68
5. Tusculum 58
6. Lenoir-Rhyne 54
7. Mars Hill 43
8. Newberry 31
9. Catawba 25
10. Brevard 12
(First place votes in parenthesis)


Forward - Robert Hill, Carson-Newman
Forward - Dave Bailey, Lenoir-Rhyne
Forward - Fernando Silveira, Lincoln Memorial
Forward - Andres Jarquin, Tusculum
Midfielder - Adrien Moufflet, Anderson
Midfielder - Richard Marquetty, Carson-Newman
Midfielder - Aaron McKenna, Lincoln Memorial
Midfielder - Luke Mulholland, Wingate
Defender - Adam Thomas, Carson-Newman
Defender - Matthew Finlay, Carson-Newman
Defender - Lucas Pereira, Lincoln Memorial
Defender - Tom Poole, Wingate
Goalkeeper - Mike Watkins, Lincoln Memorial

Forward - Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
Forward - Rury Caulfield, Mars Hill
Forward - Friddy Hoegener, Mars Hill
Forward - Adrian Ochoa, Newberry
Midfielder - Ben Backstron, Carson-Newman
Midfielder - Oriol Cortes, Lenoir-Rhyne
Midfielder - Giovanni Malnati, Mars Hill
Midfielder - Nate Arroyo, Newberry
Defender - James Moseley, Anderson
Defender -Anthony Chiapetta, Carson-Newman
Defender - Jack Vundum, Wingate
Defender -Corey McCollom, Wingate
Goalkeeper - Jordan Moore, Carson-Newman