Thursday, January 6, 2011


Bryce, Watts and Jeter become fourth, fifth and sixth Brevard players to receive this honor

Brevard, N.C. - Two Brevard College football players were named to the prestigious 2010 Don Hansen’s NCAA Division II All-Super Region Two team, capping off a season in which the Tornados went 4-7, 1-6 in South Atlantic Conference play, winning their season finale against Mars Hill College to cap a solid two-year turnaround in the program.

Neville Bryce, a senior from Cades, S.C., was selected to the Second Team offense. Bryce finished up his Brevard playing career with a stellar senior season in which the 6-0, 220 pound fullback carried the ball 112 times for 656 yards, averaging 5.9 yards per carry. Bryce averaged 72.9 yards per game, starting seven games in the Tornados backfield, and found the end zone 11 times during the regular season, including nine in the final four games of the season, including four times against Wingate and three in the season finale against Mars Hill College. Bryce finished out his career at Brevard College as the Tornados all-time leading rusher with 1,254 yards.

Eric Watts, the 2010 All-SAC Second Team punter, was named to Don Hansen's Second Team. The junior from Powhatan, Va. led the South Atlantic Conference in punting average, averaging 42.9 yards per attempt, with a season long of 73 yards coming against Johnson C. Smith on September 18th. Watts placed 14 kicks inside the 20 yard line on the season, with five punts traveling farther than 55 yards. Watts currently possesses nine of the 10 longest punts in Brevard College history and will look to build on that next year. In addition to his duties as punter, Watts was also the Tornados top receiver in the 2010 season, catching 18 passes for 236 yards and three touchdowns, averaging 21.5 yards per catch.

Kelvin Jeter, the 2010 SAC Offensive Freshman of the Year, was named to Don Hansen’s Third Team as an all-purpose player after a record-setting season with the Tornados which saw him become the first Brevard player to record over 1,000 rushing yards and 1,000 all-purpose yards in a single season, finishing his freshman campaign with 1,145 rushing yards and 1,492 all-purpose yards. Jeter also broke the Tornados longest run from scrimmage in program history with a 95-yard scamper on Sept. 25 against Southern Virginia.

The trio joins 2009 Don Hansen Regional recipients Stanley Jones, Michael Gist and Justin Jefferson as members of this prestigious award.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2010 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America Team will be named later this month.

National quarterfinalist Albany State University of the SIAC led the way with seven honorees. The University of North Alabama had six honorees, as did Tusculum College and Wingate University. National runner-up Delta State University from the GSC had five along with Carson-Newman College, Valdosta State University, and Mars Hill College.

A total of 104 players earned some form of Don Hansen All-Super Region Two honors. Players from 31 of the 33 football-playing schools in Super Region Two earned All-Region accolades.