Tuesday, April 19, 2011


Freshman, Emily Boykin was named as the second team's designated player

Rock Hill, S.C. Brevard College’s Emily Boykin was named to the All-South Atlantic Conference Second Team, as announced by the conference office on Tuesday. Boykin was named as the second team’s designated player.

Boykin hit .246 on the season with nine RBI in just 27 appearances, 21 starts. She was 15-for-61 from the plate, mainly staying at the designated player spot, but starting one game in right field. The freshman was also 1-for-1 in stolen base attempts.

Carson-Newman College’s Mary Shealy, who was among the league leaders as both a pitcher and hitter, and Lenoir-Rhyne University’s Dawon Millwood, who helped lead the Bears to a conference title, headline the 2011 South Atlantic Conference All-Conference Softball Team, the league announced today.

Lenoir-Rhyne coach Shena Hollar, who guided the Bears to their sixth conference championship in the last eight years, and seventh overall, was named Coach of the Year for the second year in a row and the fourth time overall in her career.

first baseman Danielle Swygert, who ranked fourth in the conference with a .686 slugging percentage and had nine home runs and 13 doubles, was named Freshman of the Year.

pitcher Allison Smith was named the Scholar-Athlete for softball. Smith is a senior majoring in communication, with an emphasis in journalism. She has a 3.8 GPA.

Shealy led the SAC with 33 victories as a pitcher, appearing in 49 of Carson-Newman’s 50 games this season. She was 33-11 with a 2.22 ERA and struck out 154. She also hit .326 at the plate with 11 home runs, which tied for third in the SAC, and 38 RBI, fifth best in the league.

Millwood went 21-4 in the circle for the Bears, and had a 1.37 ERA, second-best in the conference. She allowed opposing batters to hit a league-low .185 against her, and gave up a league-low 4.6 hits per game.

Lenoir-Rhyne led the way with seven All-Conference selections. Carson-Newman and Catawba had four each.

Smith has been named SAC Pitcher of the Week eight times during her career and led the conference in strikeouts per game and lowest ERA in 2009. In 2010, she became only the second pitcher in Wingate history to throw a no-hitter. She was a first-team Academic All-District selection in 2010, and was named an All-American Scholar-Athlete by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association in 2009 and 2010.

Smith has served as a staff writer, copy editor and assistant sports editor for the Weekly Triangle, Wingate’s campus newspaper. She also had a 2010 summer internship at the Enquirer-Journal in Monroe, N.C.

She also has been active in UCAN, a community service club with an emphasis on hunger, homelessness, tutoring and mentoring. She has participated in canned food drives, Angel Tree, and Halloween fairs. As a member of the Wingate Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, she has helped raise money for Make-A-Wish and the baseball clubhouse fundraising project.

The South Atlantic Conference Scholar-Athlete Award recognizes one student-athlete in each of its 14 sports programs and represents a combination of athletic skill, academic achievement and participation in community service and leadership. The award is selected by the league’s Faculty Athletic Representatives.

The awards will be presented Wednesday after the third game of the 2011 Food Lion SAC Softball Tournament, which will be played at Carson-Newman College.

The South Atlantic Conference All-Conference teams are selected by the league’s head coaches.

Regular season statistical champions and senior awards were also announced.


First Team
Catcher - Brianna Shoemake, Carson-Newman
Pitcher - Mary Shealy, Carson-Newman
Pitcher - Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne
1st Base - Jessica Fellmeth, Lenoir-Rhyne
2nd Base - Carlee Carpenter, Lenoir-Rhyne
Shortstop - Whitney Kee, Carson-Newman
3rd Base - Natalie Haithcox, Mars Hill
Outfield - Leah Price, Carson-Newman
Outfield - Khourtni Hester, Catawba
Outfield - Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne
Utility - Kayla Myers, Catawba
Designated Player - Amber Duncan, Anderson

Second Team
Catcher - Brittany Barrineau, Wingate
Pitcher - Emily Huneycutt, Catawba
Pitcher - Allison Smith, Wingate
1st Base - Allison Justice, Catawba
1st Base - Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill
2nd Base - Taylor MacDonald, Tusculum
Shortstop - Kat Rivers, Lenoir-Rhyne
3rd Base - Haily Jarman, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield - Carly Sabat, Catawba
Outfield - Brandi Haithcock, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield - Brianna Mulkey, Lincoln Memorial
Utility - Chelsie Hilbourn, Newberry
Designated Player - Emily Boykin, Brevard


COACH OF THE YEAR – Shena Hollar, Lenoir-Rhyne

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Danielle Swygert, Anderson

PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Mary Shealy, Carson-Newman

SCHOLAR-ATHLETE – Allison Smith, Wingate

Batting Avg. - Leah Price, Carson-Newman, .418
On-Base Pct. - Chelsi Mallory, Brevard, .497
Slugging Pct. - Haily Jarman, Lenoir-Rhyne, .755
HRs Per Game - Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne, 0.34
RBIs Per Game - Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill, 1.06
Runs Scored Per Game - Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne, 1.09
Triples Per Game - Carly Sabat, Catawba, 0.14; Lindsey Umberger, Tusculum, 0.14
Doubles Per Game - Carlee Carpenter, Lenoir-Rhyne, 0.49
SBs Per Game - Brianna Mulkey, LMU, 0.70
ERA - Elizabeth Johnson, Tusculum, 1.17
Strikeouts Per Game - Martika Elmore, Brevard, 8.65
Pitching Victories - Mary Shealy, Carson-Newman, 33
Team Batting Average - Lenoir-Rhyne, .327
Team Slugging Percentage - Lenoir-Rhyne, .553
Runs Scored Per Game - Lenoir-Rhyne, 6.44
Team Home Runs Per Game - Lenoir-Rhyne, 1.31
RBIs Per Game - Lenoir-Rhyne, 5.91
Team On-Base Percentage - Carson-Newman, .409
Stolen Bases Per Game - Carson-Newman, 1.88
Team Earned Run Average - Wingate, 1.91


Madison Carpenter
Casey Deer
Kinsley Durham
Lyndsey Huitt
Emily Monteith
Alexandria Waldroup
Cameron White

Sarah Carlos
Martika Elmore
Kayla Dorsey

Carson Newman
Leah Price
Amber Hewitt
Whitney Kee

Khourtni Hester
Carly Sabat
Erin Witalison

Heather Brock
Brandi Haithcock
Kat Rivers

Lincoln Memorial
Jackie Adams
Ashley Knight
Brittany Stuive

Mars Hill
Jade Bullins
Ashley Seawell
Tara West

Jessie Teague
Chelsea Chipoletti
Angela Cataldo
Chelsie Hilbourn
Richelle Miraba

Taylor MacDonald
Erin Searcy
Shanda Kimbrough

Gina Ager
Brittany Blankenship
Emily Chavis
Jessica McCraw
Allison Smith