Sunday, April 17, 2011


B Team takes Time Trial Championship

Macon, Ga. - The men’s B group recorded their second consecutive win in the Team Time Trial event to lead off the SECCC Conference Championships hosted by Mercer University this past weekend, and Caleb Welborn and Corey Meyer each had podium finishes in the Road Race as the Tornados wrapped up their conference slate for the spring.

The men’s A group started the two day event for the Tornados, coming in fifth overall with a time of 40:31:61, 3:22:35 off the pace of leader Mars Hill to open the day’s proceedings. The BC men’s B group recorded the win later in the morning, defeating teams from Lees-McRae and Florida State, crossing the line with a time of 41:23:28 to give the Tornados their first win of the day.

Heading into the Criterium, Meyer led the Tornados in the men’s A flight with a top 10 finish, crossing the line eighth overall to pace the Tornados riders. Scott Hoffner finished just outside the top 20, crossing 21st overall, while Bryan Underwood finished 39th among the riders. Michael Palevo and Marshal Hartley finished inside the top 50 for Brevard, placing 44th and 47th overall.

Brandon Milet placed on the podium in the men’s B group in the Criterium, finishing fifth overall in the event. Welborn and Keith Marek also recorded finishes in the top 20, placing 17th and 19th overall and Tyler Crotts rounded out the group with a 32nd place result to finish the day for the Tornados.

On Sunday, Meyer recorded his first podium finish of the weekend, placing fourth overall in the Road Race in the men’s A flight. Bryan Underwood was also in the top 15, placing 14th, while Hoffner and Hartley finished back-to-back in 23rd and 24th overall.

Welborn continued his season streak of riding well in the Road Race events, placing second overall behind champion Timothy Killelea of King College in the men’s B group. Milet also placed in the top 10, coming seventh, while Marek rounded out the group in 16th.

The Tornados will take a month-long break as they prepare for the 2011 USA Cycling Road National Championships, hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, in Madison, Wis.