Tuesday, April 19, 2011


Tornados place three on the postseason All-Conference team

Rock Hill, S.C. - Lindsay Shaeffer and Lindsay Hostetter were named to the 2011 All-SAC First Team, and Claire Dillman was selected to the All-SAC Second Team as the Tornados had three players recognized by the Head Coaches of the South Atlantic Conference as reported by the league office.

The All-SAC First Team recognition was Shaeffer’s third in her illustrious career with Brevard College, and the senior from Perrysburg, Ohio becomes the first BC student-athlete in any sport to be named to the All-Conference team for three consecutive seasons. Shaeffer went 13-7 at the no. 1 spot in singles for Coach Nicole Bumgarner this season, going 6-2 in conference play. Shaeffer also went 6-2 in conference doubles play and had a six-match singles win streak which ran from March 19-April 3.

The First Team selection was Hostetter’s first, after being selected to the postseason Second Team last year. The junior from Livonia, Mich. also went 13-7 in singles play, 6-3 in the SAC at no. 2 singles, and made the transition in the middle of the season to playing no. 1 doubles with Shaeffer and the duo went 5-2 on court no. 1. Hostetter also possessed an eight match winning streak on the season, not dropping a match from March 11-April 3 to help the Tornados.

Dillman was a Preseason All-Conference Second Team selection, and finished out her sophomore campaign with a 15-6 record overall, going a perfect 9-0 in conference play at the no. 3 singles position in garnering postseason accolade. Dillman is currently on an 11 match winning streak, starting back on March 15th, and clinched the BC victories over Anderson and Carson-Newman to propel the Tornados to the three-seed in the upcoming 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Tournament.

Mars Hill College’s Erika Pinate, who went undefeated in conference play, and Wingate University’s Ali Evers, who helped lead the Bulldogs to a conference title in her first season, headline the 2011 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team.

Pinate went 9-0 at No. 1 singles in conference play for the Lions, and is 13-2 overall, to earn Player of the Year honors. She has a 9-6 overall record in doubles action.

Evers, a freshman from Roswell, Ga., played No. 2 singles for the Bulldogs, where she went 15-5 overall and 6-3 against conference opponents. She also went 18-2 in double play, including a 7-2 conference record, and was named Freshman of the Year.

Wingate coach Michael Cabana, who guided the Bulldogs to their second conference champion ship in school history, and first since 2003, was named Coach of the Year. He wins the award for the first time in his career.

Wingate led the way with four All-Conference selections, while Brevard and Lincoln Memorial had three each.

Tusculum’s Blake Thompson was named the Scholar-Athlete for women’s tennis. Blake is a senior majoring in pre-medicine, and has a 3.61 GPA. She has been on the Tusculum Dean’s List every semester, as well as the Charles Oliver Gray honor list. In 2008, she was recognized as the Tusculum Academic Freshman of the Year for having the highest GPA.

During her tennis career, Thompson has recorded 92 career victories in singles and doubles, including 36 conference wins. She had a 22-match winning streak in singles from 2009 to 2010. She helped Tusculum to two conference championships and one tournament title. She has been named an ITA Scholar-Athlete three times.

Thompson has volunteered with Special Olympics, Greeneville Food Pantry, Santa Pal Program, Adopt-A-Family, at a local soup kitchen, and assisted with remodeling a day care center. She also volunteered at a Wellmont Hospital in Bristol, Tenn., where she shadowed doctors and helped organize patient charts.

The South Atlantic Conference Scholar-Athlete Award recognizes one student-athlete in each of its 14 sports programs and represents a combination of athletic skill, academic achievement and participation in community service and leadership. The award is selected by the league’s Faculty Athletic Representatives.

First Team
Lauren Trumbull, Anderson
Lindsay Hostetter, Brevard
Lindsay Shaeffer, Brevard
Leah Donoff, Lincoln Memorial
Sofia Lopez Mimendi, Lincoln Memorial
Erika Pinate, Mars Hill
Ali Evers, Wingate
Kara Stasikelis, Wingate

Second Team
Claire Dillman, Brevard
Taryn Cappadona, Carson-Newman
Kasia Zielinski, Catawba
Emily Mauser, Lenoir-Rhyne
Alexandra Granger, Lincoln Memorial
Tatiana Dualiby, Mars Hill
Blake Thompson, Tusculum
Morgan Winston, Wingate
Olivia Poole, Wingate

Player of the Year – Erika Pinate, Mars Hill
Freshman of the Year – Ali Evers, Wingate
Coach of the Year – Michael Cabana, Wingate
Scholar-Athlete – Blake Thompson, Tusculum

Julie Halbert

Lindsay Shaeffer

Taryn Cappadona
Stephanie Goode
Charli Thomas

Jennifer Dameron
Vanessa Silva
Kasia Zielinski

Cathryn Jarrett

Blake Thompson

Kara Stasikelis