Saturday, October 22, 2011


Merkel achieves All-Freshman status at Panther Creek State Park

Morristown, Tenn. - Josh Mower became the second Brevard College Men’s Cross Country runner to earn All-SAC honors after finishing 11th overall and Bart Merkel earned All-Freshman honors to pace the Tornados at the 2011 Food Lion SAC Championships on Saturday morning at Panther Creek State Park.

Mower, a sophomore from Ramseur, N.C. led the Tornados to their highest finish in the SAC Championship event, crossing the line in 27:20.2, setting a mile-pace of 5:30.0 to join Matthew Crowe as the only BC men’s runners to finish on the All-SAC postseason team.

Bart Merkel joined Mower in the top 20, crossing the line 19th overall for his best finish in the 2011 season, finishing with a time of 27:35.9 in finishing third overall among SAC freshmen in earning All-Freshman team honors.

Jordan Tager placed 33rd overall with a time of 28:25.0, while senior Jonathan LaVelle crossed the line 40th overall with a time of 28:57.6 in his final season with the Tornados.

Sophomores Erik Gibbs, Chris Shore, Skip Allsopp and Jourdane Landry finished 52nd, 59th, 62nd and 81st to round out the group for Coach Jack Daniels.

The Tornados look ahead now to the 2011 NCAA Southeast Regional, which will be held on Saturday, November 5th in Charlotte, N.C. The runners will take their marks at the starting line at 11 a.m.

Team Results
1. Mars Hill, 46
2. Anderson, 48
3. Wingate, 98
4. Lenoir-Rhyne, 101
5. Brevard, 142
6. Lincoln Memorial, 176
7. Newberry, 197
8. Catawba, 204
9. Carson-Newman, 230
10. Tusculum, 249

SAC Runner of the Year: Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
SAC Freshman of the Year: Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
SAC Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill

All-Conference First Team
Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
Christian Crifasi, Catawba
Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
Parks Edwards, Anderson
Eric Blackburn, Mars Hill
Derrick Lindsay, Lincoln Memorial
Steve Hammond, Wingate

All-Conference Second Team
Alex Pena, Anderson
Deniz Hay, Anderson
Christopher Powell, Mars Hill
Josh Mower, Brevard
Kyle Koby, Anderson
Biniam Ateka Belachew, Wingate
Josh Greenfield-Tuttle, Mars Hill

All-Freshman Team
Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
Maurice Riden, Mars Hill
Bart Merkel, Brevard
Justin Golay, Newberry
David Cooper, Tusculum