Wednesday, April 18, 2012


Tornados have four players earn recogntion from SAC office

Rock Hill, S.C. - Chad Funkhouser became the second Brevard College student-athlete to earn SAC Freshman of the Year honors this spring, joining men’s golf member Kim Koivu, as the freshman second baseman from Poquoson, Va. was recognized by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon.

Funkhouser closed the regular season with a .346 batting average and a .425 OBP for the Tornados, but performed even better during conference play, hitting .380 in SAC action, scoring 22 runs and driving in 22 RBIs, while leading the team with nine doubles. He was also named to the All-Conference Second Team honors as the second baseman.

Champ Stuart was also selected to the All-Conference team, earning All-SAC Second Team honors in the outfield after leading the South Atlantic Conference in batting average as the sophomore from Bimini, Bahamas, hit .425 on the season. Stuart added six home runs and 14 stolen bases to his total in pacing the Brevard offense on the season.

Christian Christopoulos and Tarron Robinson were also recognized by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon, earning recognition on the 2012 SAC Gold Glove Team. Christopoulos earned Gold Glove honors at the catcher position, while Robinson earned the Gold Glove at first base.

For a complete list of the South Atlantic Conference Baseball award winners, see the list below:

SAC Player of the Year: Kyle Koeneman, C-N
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year: Craig Goodman, TC
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year: JJ Jankowski, CAT
SAC Freshman of the Year: Chad Funkhouser, BC
SAC Coach of the Year: Doug Jones, TC

2012 All-SAC Team
First Team
C - Brett Scarberry, AU
1B - Kyle Koeneman, C-N
2B - Andre Rodriguez, LMU
SS - Joe Horsley, LMU
3B - Cade Stallings, TC
OF - Casey Allison, WU
OF - Joey Belviso, MHC
OF - Ethan Satterfield, CAT
DH - Garrett Furr, CAT
SP - Craig Goodman, TC
SP - JJ Jankowski, CAT
SP - Josh McElwee, NEW
RP - John-Austin Shepard, TC

Second Team
C - Cody Coffman, TC
1B - Coty Pate, MHC
2B - Chad Funkhouser, BC
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Jacob Karr, WU
OF - Champ Stuart, BC
OF - Alexi Colon, TC
OF - Dodson McPherson, WU
DH - Carlos Santana, TC
SP - Nick Lomascolo, CAT
SP - Taylor Rakes, TC
SP - Robby Thigpen, C-N
RP - Nate King, CAT

2012 SAC Gold Glove Team
C - Christian Christopoulos, BC
C - Greg Lawson, CAT
1B - Tarron Robinson, BC
2B - Julio Zubillaga, CAT
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Blake May, AU
OF - Ryan Bostian, CAT
OF - Kevin Rufus, NEW
OF - Cody Baker, LMU
OF - Aaron Guinn, TC
P - Robby Thigpen, C-N