Thursday, January 31, 2013


Rock Hill, S.C.- Kayla Clemens and Brittany Fowler have been selected to the 2013 Preseason All-SAC First Team, the league office announced on Wednesday.

Fowler was selected to the First Team as an outfielder after hitting .339 in 41 games last season for the Tornados, sporting a .418 on-base percentage and scoring 26 runs.

Clemens received the nod as a starting pitcher after going 15-15 with a 2.26 ERA, which was tied for fifth in the South Atlantic Conference last season. Clemens had 119 strikeouts in 191.2 innings in 2012.

Around the first-team infield is Wingate catcher Betsy Braswell, L-R first baseman Jessica Fellmeth, Anderson second baseman Jessica Neidigh, L-R third baseman Haily Jarman, and Abby Child, the first-team shortstop. 

Neidigh, Child and Jarman finished first, third and sixth, respectively, in the SAC in batting average in 2012.  Neidigh also led the conference with 62 runs scored, Child led the league with 61 RBI, and Jarman finished first in doubles with 18.
Fellmeth’s 14 home runs tied for the second most in the SAC in 2012, while Braswell’s .584 slugging percentage was 10th.
LMU’s Briana Mulkey and L-R’s Marie Mauhar round out the first-team outfield.  Mulkey’s 27 stolen bases led the SAC last season, and Mauhar hit .248 with seven doubles. 

LMU’s Amanda Snow is the first-team designated player and Tusculum’s Kaytlin Stroinski was selected as the first-team utility player.  Snow led the Railsplitters in batting average, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, hits, RBI and home runs in 2012, while Stroinski led TC in batting average, slugging percentage, OBP, runs, hits and home runs. 
Tusculum pitcher Elizabeth Johnson was the other First Team starting pitcher.  Johnson also had a 2.26 ERA, and  recorded 125 strikeouts.

Making up the second-team infield are Catawba catcher Tara Gibbs, Carson-Newman first baseman Caitlyn Lance, Tusculum second baseman Nicole Ball, Lenoir-Rhyne shortstop Jody Mizelle and C-N third baseman Sara Kelley.

L-R’s Brittany Coursen, Anderson’s Rebecca Martin and Catawba’s Amanda Terry form the second-team outfield, while Mars Hill’s Robyn Stanek was named the designated player and Newberry’s Brittany Phillips was voted the utility player.

Catawba’s Emily Huneycutt and Mars Hill’s Taylor Morris were selected as the second-team pitchers.

Fellmeth, Neidigh, Child, Mulkey, Fowler, Snow, Stroinski and Johnson were all members of the 2012 All-SAC First Team, while Braswell, Jarman, Mauhar, Clemens, Lance, Coursen, Martin and Phillips were second-team selections last year.

First Team
C Betsy Braswell, WU
1B Jessica Fellmeth, L-R
2B Jessica Neidigh, AU
SS Abby Child, AU
3B Haily Jarman, L-R
OF Briana Mulkey, LMU
OF Brittany Fowler, BC
OF Marie Mauhar, L-R
DP Amanda Snow, LMU
Util. Kaytlin Stroinski, TC
SP Elizabeth Johnson, TC
SP Kayla Clemens, BC

Second Team
C Tara Gibbs, CAT
1B Caitlyn Lance, C-N
2B Nicole Ball, TC
SS Jody Mizelle, L-R
3B Sara Kelley, C-N
OF Brittany Coursen, L-R
OF Rebecca Martin, AU
OF Amanda Terry, CAT
DP Robyn Stanek, MHC
Util. Brittany Phillips, NEW
SP Emily Huneycutt, CAT
SP Taylor Morris, MHC