Thursday, November 21, 2013


ROCK HILL, S.C.- Brevard College’s Kelvin Jeter, Michael Gruber and Jacob McCleery were named All-South Atlantic Conference selections for the 2013 season, the conference announced on Wednesday.

Jeter earned a spot on the second team as a running back after finishing second in the conference with 6.3 yards per carry. The redshirt junior rushed for 800 yards and eight touchdowns on 126 carries. Jeter ran for a season-high 148 yards against Division I FCS Liberty University on November 16th.

Gruber was named a second-team linebacker after setting a Brevard College single-season record with 124 total tackles in 2013. The junior recorded a season-high 16 tackles at Carson-Newman on September 28th, and grabbed two interceptions on the year.

McCleery also earned a spot on the second team as a defensive back after finishing third in the SAC in interceptions (four) and second for interception return yards (112). The sophomore intercepted passes in three consecutive conference games, including a 74-yard interception returned for a touchdown in the win over Mars Hill on October 12th. 
Lenoir-Rhyne – the SAC regular-season champion – and Newberry both had 11 All-Conference selections, including eight first-team picks for L-R and seven for Newberry.  Fellow NCAA Championship selection Carson-Newman was next with nine on the All-Conference Team, followed by Tusculum and Wingate with seven, Catawba with six, and Mars Hill with five.

Headlining the All-SAC First Team offense is the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year, Tusculum quarterback Bo Cordell, who wins the award for the second time in his career. 

The All-SAC First Team defense is led by Lenoir-Rhyne defensive back Michael Green, the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. 

Mars Hill quarterback Trent Miller was selected as the SAC Offensive Freshman of the Year after finishing third in the conference with 2,757 passing yards and 23 touchdowns. 

Additionally, Lenoir-Rhyne defensive back Rodney Singleton was voted as the league’s Defensive Freshman of the Year after tallying 49 tackles, 3.5 sacks and an interception.

Lenoir-Rhyne’s Mike Houston, who led the Bears to their third-straight SAC regular-season title and the top seed in the NCAA Tournament’s Super Region II, was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.  Houston wins the award for the second-straight season.