Wednesday, March 5, 2014


ROCK HILL, S.C.- Brevard College’s Trevon Shaw has been voted to the South Atlantic Conference All-Freshman basketball team, while Darius Moose was named an All-SAC Honorable Mention, league officials announced Wednesday.

“Both guys did a lot to help our team this year,” said head men's basketball coach Lee Burgess. “It’s great for them to receive recognition from coaches in our league for their body of work over an entire season.”

Shaw was selected to the All-Freshman team after leading the conference and breaking the Brevard College single-season record for three-point field goal percentage, connecting on 48.4 percent (62-of-128) of attempts from beyond the arc this season.

The Buford, Ga. native averaged 12.7 points per game while shooting 50.4 percent from the floor and pulling down 4.2 rebounds per game this season.

Moose was named an All-SAC Honorable Mention after finishing third in the league in scoring (19.8 ppg), eighth in assists (3.2 apg), and second in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.5). The 6-3 forward scored in double figures in 24-of-26 games, including 13 20-point games.

The Salisbury, N.C. native recorded four double-doubles on the season and finished fourth in the NCAA in minutes per game this season. The redshirt junior was named SAC Player of the Week on January 13 after scoring a career-high 33 points and matching a career-best 18 rebounds in a win over Tusculum, and adding 32 points in a loss to Catawba.

The South Atlantic Conference Basketball Awards are selected by the league’s 12 head coaches.

All-SAC First Team
Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial
Antoine Davis, Carson-Newman
Chandler Hash, Anderson
Dondray Walker, Newberry
Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman
Jarrett Stokes, Queens
All-SAC Second Team
Lorenza Ross, Lincoln Memorial
R.J. McClure, Lenoir-Rhyne
Deion Turman, Wingate
Ryan Daye, Wingate
C.J. Gleaton, Anderson
Chance Jones, Lincoln Memorial
All-SAC Honorable Mention

Julian Nelson, Coker
Darius Moose, Brevard
Tyrece Little, Catawba
Demarkus Smith, Newberry
Josh Clyburn, Queens
Kijuan Arrington, Catawba
All-Freshman Team
Isiah Cureton, Wingate
Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial
Trevon Shaw, Brevard
Josh Dominguez, Wingate
Gerald Evans, Newberry
Player of the Year: Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year: Isiah Cureton, Wingate
Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial