Tuesday, May 27, 2014


BREVARD, N.C.-Brevard College Athletic Director Juan Mascaro is pleased to announce the appointment of Ed Dickson as the head coach of the Tornados men’s and women’s tennis programs.

“Ed’s knowledge of the game and breadth of collegiate coaching experience will help take Brevard College tennis to a high level,” said Mascaro. “His work ethic combined with his experience make him a great fit for BC tennis.”

Dickson is most recently coming off a five-year stint as the head coach for the men’s and women’s tennis teams at Austin Peay State, and has over 25 years of experience as a Division I head tennis coach.

“I look forward to helping the student-athletes at Brevard play up to their potential, be champions in the classroom, and leave Brevard to become successful in their life after college,” said Dickson.

Prior to his time at Austin Peay, Dickson spent eight seasons at the helm of the West Virginia men’s tennis team. There he led the Mountaineers to two top-four Big East finishes. After the program was terminated following the 2003 season, Dickson remained at WVU through 2004 as the academic coordinator for men’s basketball.

The Bellefontaine, Ohio native landed his first head coaching role at Purdue University in 1983, where he produced seven first-team All-Big 10 selections in 11 seasons. His 1984 men’s team had the best record in Purdue history at 22-7, and his 1986 team placed fourth in the Big Ten, the Boilermakers’ best finish since 1956. His women’s program produced a Big 10 Player of the Year and a four-time All-Big 10 selection.

Dickson began his career in collegiate coaching as an assistant at Clemson University, helping lead the men’s and women’s teams to first-place finishes at the 1983 ACC Championships.

Dickson earned a bachelor’s degree in education/social studies in 1974 from the University of Toledo, where he was a four-year letter winner in varsity tennis and a co-captain his senior season. Dickson was a centerpiece on Rocket teams that won the Mid-American Conference championship three times from 1970-73.