Tuesday, April 21, 2009


White finishes tied for 11th in final event

Etowah, N.C. - Grant Carnie recorded the low round for the Tornados on the final day of the SAC Championships, fighting through the windy conditions to finish with a 77 as the Brevard men’s golf team shot a third day 315 to finish in fifth place.

Overall, the Tornados finished with a three round total of 902, 19 strokes behind SAC champion, Newberry.

Chris White led the Tornados for the tournament, carding a 224 through his three rounds on the par 72, 6,796 yard course at the Etowah Valley Country Club to finish in a tie for 11th. Joshua Davis finished three strokes behind with a 227, and Bret McGaughey and Thomas Bush both finished at 228 in a tie for 24th. Carnie rounded out the group in a tie for 30th with a three day total of 234.

Tusculum’s Chase Carroll, the 2009 SAC Player of the Year, led wire-to-wire shooting a three-round total 217 to capture SAC Tournament medalist honors for the second time in his career.  Carroll posted a final round 77 and birdied his final hole to edge Cory Bartlett of Lincoln Memorial University, who finished runner-up with 218, including a final round 72.

Newberry finished 12 shots in front of second place Wingate University (895).  Carson-Newman College placed third with 897, followed by Tusculum (899), Brevard College (902), Lincoln Memorial (905), Lenoir-Rhyne University (914), Mars Hill College (920) and Catawba College (935).

Joining Carroll and Bartlett on the SAC All-Tournament First Team are Josh Spalding (Mars Hill), Brad Robinson (Carson-Newman) and Eric Kennedy (Lincoln Memorial).  David Crawford (Wingate), Ben Lown (Newberry) and Brandon Burnside (Newberry) earned spots on the All-Tournament Second Team, along with Daniel Stanley (Newberry) and Kent George (Lenoir-Rhyne).

The SAC Championship was held at the Par 72, 6,796-yard Etowah Valley Country Club and Golf Resort.

2009 Food Lion SAC All-Tournament Men’s Golf Team

First Team
Chase Carroll, Tusculum (Medalist)
Cory Bartlett, Lincoln Memorial
Josh Spalding, Mars Hill
Brad Robinson, Carson-Newman
Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial

Second Team
David Crawford, Wingate
Ben Lown, Newberry
Brandon Burnside, Newberry
Daniel Stanley, Newberry
Kent George, Lenoir-Rhyne

Media Stats
Combo Stats
Team Stats
Individual Stats