Sunday, May 3, 2009


Volleyball wins the first BC Champs Cup

Brevard, N.C. - On Sunday night, May 3, Brevard College announced its 2008-2009 athletic awards winners for its student-athletes. The awards were presented at the annual athletic ceremony held at the Porter Center for Performing Arts tonight.

Headlining the list of award winners were Lindsay Shaeffer and Jonathan Whitson, who were awarded the Female and Male Athlete of the Year awards, as well the women’s volleyball team winning the first annual CHAMPS Cup.

Shaeffer, a sophomore women’s tennis player from Perrysburg, Ohio, was named the Brevard College Female Athlete of the Year. In her sophomore year, Shaeffer led the BC women’s tennis team to the 2009 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference championship final against Carson-Newman. Shaeffer, playing in #1 singles, finished with an overall record of 17-5, 7-1 in SAC play and won two conference tournament singles matches. In #1 doubles, Shaeffer combined with Kim Dixon to go 18-5, 7-1 in the SAC on the season. Shaeffer was also one of three BC female athletes to receive First Team All-SAC honors, along with Dixon, and cross country runner Alycia Andrade

Whitson, a junior from Clyde, N.C., was named the Brevard College Male Athlete of the Year for the second time in his Tornados career. Whitson was the most decorated BC athlete this season, receiving regional honors as a Daktronics 2nd Team All-Southeast Regional member and the NABC 2nd Team All-Southeast Regional member to go with his First Team All-SAC recognition. For the season, Whitson finished third in the conference in points scored per game with 19.2 and led the conference in both field goals made (201) and rebounds per game (8.7). Whitson also broke two career records at Brevard College this season, taking over the men’s scoring title from Tyjuan Campbell, finishing the season with 1,479 points in his collegiate career, and career rebounds, taking the record from David Evans, with 686.

The Brevard College women’s volleyball team became this year’s inaugural CHAMPS Cup champion, recording 524 out of the 2,648 points earned by the Tornados athletic teams. The Champs Cup is a product of the NCAA Champs/Life Skills program which measures Academic Excellence, Athletic Excellence, Career Development, Personal Development, and Excellence in Service. The volleyball team, coached by Brenda Skeffington, accumulated the most points in the area of Personal Development and became the first BC team to win the Champs Cup at Brevard.

Other top awards went to senior volleyball player Jami Perry, who took home the Senior GPA Award and the men’s tennis team, who won the overall Team GPA award.

The following were the team awards:

Baseball – Spencer Linn (MVP), Matthew Pruitt (Offensive Player of the Year), Brice Warner (Defensive Player of the Year)

Men’s Basketball – Jonathan Whitson (MVP), Joseph Chilton (Most Improved), Sean Ferretti (Coaches Award)

Women’s Basketball – Samantha Winn (MVP), Anna Schlobohm & Amanda Whitaker (Co-Most Improved), Holli Flippo (Coaches Award)

Cheerleading – Alice Klochkova (Most Improved)

Men’s XC/T&F – Tiffen Tapia (MVP-XC), Damon Martin (MVP-Track), Zach Hazen (Coaches Award)

Women’s XC/T&F – Alycia Andrade (MVP-XC), Brittany Radenbaugh (MVP-Track), Chynna Shipp (Coaches Award)

Cycling – Jo Tuttle and Tristan Cowie (MVPs), Julia Tellman (Most Improved), Dan Ennis (Coaches Award)

Football – Stanley Jones (MVP), Brandon Rawls (Most Improved), Donald Hudson (Coaches Award)

Men’s Golf – Grant Carnie (MVP), Thomas Rennie (Most Improved), Bret McGaughey (Freshman of the Year)

Women’s Golf – Alice Klochkova (MVP), Erika Kellems (Most Improved), Lucy McNulty (Freshman of the Year)

Men’s Soccer – Niclas Stolt (MVP), Thomas Kombol (Most Improved), Ian Townson (Coaches Award)

Women’s Soccer – Ashley Fincher (MVP), Gretchen Allie (Most Improved), Chelsea Freeman (Coaches Award)

Softball – Kristina Clayton (MVP), Kasey Fagan (Most Improved), Beth Brooker (Coaches Award)

Men’s Tennis – Jarred Fisher (MVP), Jonathan Lavelle (Most Improved), Konstantin Savelyev (Coaches Award)

Women’s Tennis – Kayley Duval (MVP), Sara Douglas (Most Improved), Emily Barrick (Coaches Award)

Volleyball – Jami Perry (MVP), Jordei Osby (Most Improved), Rebecca Schoonover (Team Above Self Award)

Pictures of all of Award Winners from the ceremony
Candids of the Athletic Awards Ceremony