Monday, September 14, 2009


Banner Elk, N.C.-The Brevard College Cycling Team competed at Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, N.C. September 12 and 13 against teams from Union, Warren Wilson, Appalachian State, Mars Hill, Cumberland, East Tennessee State, UNC-Asheville, Lees-McRae and Clemson.

The two-day meet began with the Downhill Event on Saturday. Brevard’s Jo Tuttle won the Women’s A Downhill in two minutes and sixteen seconds. Teammate Julia Tellman finished third in the 12-woman field with a 3:12 time. Alexis Decosimo rode to a ninth place result in 3:54. Sarah Duncan crossed the line in 4:54.

In the Men’s A Downhill race Brevard’s Danny Cesare finished second in the forty man field in one minute and 48 seconds, mere hundredths of a second behind winner Ben Hulse from Lees-McRae. Tornado Park Barker garnered a third place result with a 1:53 effort. Thomas Bagnel and Jacob Rowland ran seventh and eighth respectively in the 1:57 range. Andrew Earby ran 19th in 2:14. James Chaput crossed the line in 2:41.

John Palmer was third in the eight man field in the Men’s B Downhill race. He posted a 2:38 time. Lees-McRae’s Kerry Werner won the event in 2:12.

Two Tornado women placed in the top five of the Short Track Cross Country race Saturday. Tellman finished second and Tuttle ran fifth behind winner Carla Swart of Lees-McRae. Alexis Decosimo finished ninth. Elisa Otter was 12th, and Sarah Duncan finished 15th in the 16-woman field.

In the Men’s A Short Track Cross Country Event BC’s Tristan Cowie finished third, two spots behind first place rider Zach Winn of Union. Matthew St. Marie ran ninth. Cory Rimmer posted a 12th place effort. Matthew Wells and Tim Reinhart finished 25th and 26th respectively in the 37-man field.

In the Men’s C STXC BC’s Travis Taylor and Kyle Stallings finished sixth and seventh respectively, behind winner Chris Askew from Clemson.

Tuttle finished second in the Women’s A Dual Slalom bracket. Tellman placed sixth in the event won by Lees-McRae’s Chloe Jackson. Decosmio ran ninth and Sarah Duncan posted a 14th place result.

Cesare finished fourth in the Men’s A Dual Slalom. He posted the best qualifying time and reached the semi-finals in an event won by Thomas Wilkinson from ETSU. Bagnel was seventh in the 32-man bracket. Cowie finished ninth, followed by James Chaput at 25th and Earby at 30th.

BC’s Tristan Cowie finished first in the Men’s A Cross Country Event Sunday crossing the line in 1:39: 15. Team mate Matt St. Marie placed seventh in the 36 man field at 1:48:35. A third Tornado cracked the top ten as Cory Rimmer maneuvered the course in 1:49:18. Tim Reinhart finished 22nd and Matthew Wells followed close behind in 26th.

Travis Taylor earned a fifth place result in the Men’s C race finishing in 1:11:54. Kyle Stallings placed 12th with a time of 1:41:55. Clemson’s Chris Askew won the race in 1:05:05.

Two Tornados finished in the top three of the Women's Cross Country Event. Julia Tellman crossed in 1:48:11 to finish second in the 14-women field, eight and half minutes behind Lees-McRae’s Carla Smart.  Jo Tuttle raced to a third place finish in 1:49:58. BC’s Alexis Decosimo, Sarah Duncan, and Elisa Otter finished 10th, 11th, and 12th respectively. 

Coach Walker’s team resumes action Saturday September 19 with the two-day Appalachian State University Dual Conference Race.