Monday, September 28, 2009


Cesare, Tuttle win multiple races

Brevard, N.C. - The Brevard College Cycling Teams hosted the Brevard meet September 26 and 27. The Tornados rode against teams from Lees-McRae, East Tennessee State, Cumberland, Clemson, Warren Wilson, Union, Florida, UNC-Asheville, Western Carolina, Georgia and Mars Hill.

Jo Tuttle won the Women’s Downhill race Saturday, finishing in two minutes and 49 seconds. Julia Tellman finished third in 5:22. Sarah Duncan crossed the line in 6:46 for an eighth-place result. Alexis Decosimo rode for 9:03 and a ninth-place finish.

BC’s Danny Cesare made it a Tornado sweep in the Men’s A Downhill by finishing first in the 39-man field in 1:41. Jacob Roland covered the track in 2:05 to finish fourth.  Thomas Bagnel was right behind at 2:08 and fifth place.  Park Baker was the fourth Tornado rider to finish in the top ten at tenth in 2:27. Andrew Irby rode for 2:52 and James Chaput crossed in 3:17. John Palmer finished second in the Men’s B Downhill. Western Carolina’s Max Lijequest won that race.

Tuttle continued her good work with a second place ride in the Women’s A Short Track Cross Country event. Tellman finished third. Decosimo crossed in sixth place and Duncan rode tenth. UGA’s Jamie Dinkins won the race. BC’s Morgan Sykes finished fourth in the Women’s B Race. UNCA’s Carolyn Whitman won.

Tristan Cowie won the Men’s A Short Track Cross Country Race. Matthew St. Marie finished tenth. Tim Reinhart rode 15th and Matthew Wells crossed 18th in the 26-man field. Travis Taylor and Kyle Stallings finished first and second respectively in the Men’s C race.

Tuttle garnered her second first place finish of the competition in the Dual Slalom Race. Tellman finished third. Decosimo rode seventh and Duncan finished tenth.

Cesare won the 32-rider bracket in the Men’s A Dual Slalom. Bagnel, Reinhart, and Roland rode 15th, 16th, and 18th respectively. Chaput finished 23rd and Baker finished 25th. Palmer finished second in the Men’s B race behind Royce Breckon of UNCA.

Tellman and Tuttle rode second and third respectively in the Women’s A Cross Country race. Tellman crossed in one hour, 26 minutes, and 13 seconds. Tuttle finished in 1:37:28. Dinkins was first in 1:18:21. Sykes was third in the Women’s B race, finishing in 1:19:15. Whitman won in 1:01:09.

Cowie finished second in the Men’s A Cross Country field of 26. He turned in a time of 1:38:42. St. Marie crossed in seventh place at 1:46:02. Lees-McRae's Scott Stewart won the race in 1:34:41. Taylor and Stallings finished one-two in the Men’s C race. Taylor crossed in 50 minutes and 47 seconds. Stallings finished in 1:04:46.

The Tornados ride again at Clemson October 3 and 4 in the Conference Championships.