Tuesday, August 19, 2008


Rock Hill, S.C. – The Brevard College men's soccer team has been predicted to finish ninth in the South Atlantic Conference according to the preseason South Atlantic Conference poll, which was released today. The Tornados, who competed last season as provisional members of the SAC, will now compete as full NCAA Division II and SAC members in 2008.

Lincoln Memorial University, which advanced to the NCAA Division II men's soccer championship game last season, is the favorite to repeat as South Atlantic Conference champions, in a poll of the league's nine head coaches.

The Railsplitters received six first-place votes and 78 total points. Lincoln Memorial is ranked second in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Division II preseason poll. The Railsplitters also had three players named to the preseason All-Conference team, which was also announced.

Leandro Pereira, the 2007 SAC Player of the Year and Daktronics National Player of the Year, is joined by defender Felipe Nogueira on the first team, while midfielder Aaron McKenna was named to the second team. Pereira led the SAC last season with 23 goals and 55 total points.

Tusculum College, which shared the conference championship with Lincoln Memorial last season, is picked to finish second. The Pioneeers received 73 points and garnered the other three first-place votes.

The Pioneers had five named to the preseason All-Conference team. Forward Bruno Conceicão and midfielders Lucas Paulini and Anteneh Lemma were named to the first team. Conceicão was second in the league last year in total scoring with 46 points.

Midfielder Gareth Williams and defender Sven Meyer were named to the second team.

Carson-Newman College is picked to finish third, receiving 58 points.  The Eagles, who advanced to the finals of the NCAA Division II Appalachian Region Tournament last year, start the year with five preseason All-Conference selections.

Defender Thomas Ostvold made the first team, while forward Omar Cooke, midfielder Marcus Cabralis, defender Everardo Flores and goalkeeper Jordan Moore were named to the second team. Moore led the SAC in goals against average last season at 0.79.

Wingate is picked to finish fourth with 56 points. Wingate is ranked 25th in the NSCAA preseason poll.

The Bulldogs placed three on the preseason All-Conference team. Forward Junior Nyemb and midfielder Luke Mulholland were named to the first team, while forward Rory Green was named to the second team.

Lenoir-Rhyne University is picked to finish fifth with 42 points. The Bears had four preseason All-Conference picks, with midfielder Luis Carrizosa and defenders Aaron Wheeler and Gary Higgins all named to the first team. Defender Shawn Brunk was named to the second team.

Newberry College received 34 points for sixth place in the poll. Newberry had three named to the preseason All-Conference team. Forward Debola Ogunseye, who scored 17 goals in 17 matches, was named to the first team. Forward Kwame Gyamfi and midfielder Shane Abbott were named to the second team.

Catawba College is the pick for seventh with 27 points, one point ahead of Mars Hill College, which picked up 26 points.

The Mars Hill Lions placed a pair on the preseason All-Conference team as goalkeeper Sean Merfeld was named to the first team and defender Rondon Bacchus was named to the second team.

Brevard College rounds out the poll with 11 points.

The Tornados finished the 2007 season with a 4-14-1 overall record, as BC played a full NCAA Division II and South Atlantic Conference slate.  Junior captain Ian Townson returns in 2008, as he led the Tornados last season with 10 points and was tied for the lead in goals with four.  Sophomore Kyle Stanforth returns after a solid freshman campaign in 2007, in which he had two goals and three assists at the midfield position.

The 2008 season will begin on Thursday, August 28, with six matches taken place.

The 2008 Food Lion SAC Men's Soccer Tournament will culminate with the semifinals at the Manchester Meadows soccer stadium in Rock Hill, S.C., Friday, Nov. 7, with the finals on Sunday, Nov. 9.

The Tornados 2008 season will open on Friday, August 29, as BC will play host to Belmont Abbey College.  The match is slated for a 3 p.m. start time.

Pl School Pts.

1. Lincoln Memorial (6) 78
2. Tusculum (3) 73
3. Carson-Newman 58
4. Wingate 56
5. Lenoir-Rhyne 42
6. Newberry 34
7. Catawba 27
8. Mars Hill 26
9. Brevard 11

(First place votes in parenthesis)


Forward - Leandro Pereira, Lincoln Memorial
Forward - Debola Ogunseye, Newberry
Forward - Bruno Conceicão, Tusculum
Forward - Junior Nyemb, Wingate
Midfielder - Luis Carrizosa, Lenoir-Rhyne
Midfielder - Lucas Paulini , Tusculum
Midfielder - Luke Mulholland, Wingate
Midfielder - Anteneh Lemma, Tusculum
Defender - Thomas Ostvold, Carson-Newman
Defender - Aaron Wheeler, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defender - Felipe Nogueira, Lincoln Memorial
Defender - Gary Higgins, Lenoir-Rhyne
Goalkeeper - Sean Merfeld, Mars Hill
Forward - Omar Cooke, Carson-Newman
Forward - Kwame Gyamfi, Newberry
Forward - Rory Green, Wingate
Midfielder - Shane Abbott, Newberry
Midfielder - Gareth Williams, Tusculum
Midfielder - Aaron McKenna, Lincoln Memorial
Midfielder - Marcus Cabralis, Carson-Newman
Defender - Everardo Flores, Carson-Newman
Defender - Rondon Bacchus, Mars Hill
Defender - Sven Meyer, Tusculum
Defender - Shawn Brunk, Lenoir-Rhyne
Goalkeeper - Jordan Moore, Carson-Newman