Friday, February 19, 2010


BC's Crowe finishes second in Men's 200 Meters

Boone, N.C. – The Tornado Track and Field team competed at the 2010 Appalachian State Mountaineer Indoor Open Track Meet Thursday February 18 at Appalachian State in Boone, N.C.

Brevard was joined in the meet by teams from Appalachian State, Lees-McRae, Gardner-Webb, Winthrop, Davidson, UNC-Asheville, Lenoir-Rhyne, East Tennessee State, Guilford, Milligan, Anderson, Queens, UNC-Greensboro, and Montreat.

Matt Lambert crossed the finish line in 1:27.23 in the Men’s 600-Meter race to place second behind Milligan’s Dwayne Jordan, who finished in 1:25.54.

Speedster Justin Fleming notched a fourth place result in the Men’s 200-Meter event turning in a 23.16 finish. Milligan’s Jordan was a second and a half faster, finishing first in 22.71.

Willie Jones continued the top five Tornado finishes in the sprint events when he ran a 40.30 time in the 300 meters. Appalachian State’s John Svoboda crossed first in 34.95.

Jones competed in two other races. He garnered an 18th place result in the 400 meters after a 55.33 run. Milligan's Mike Ezike took first with a 50.08 time. Jones ran the 800 meters in 2:14.67 to place 18th. UNC Asheville's Eliud Chirchir took first finishing in 1:54.62.

In women’s action Ariel Musilaar ran the 800-meter race in 2:48.13 to place 14th. Queens University’s Maraya Slatter took first in 2:19.46. Brevard’s Chyna Shipp competed in the 600-Meters and covered the track in 2:11.32. Milligan’s Yolanda Migoyo ran for 1:38.83 to finish first.

The Women’s 3000 Meter race saw three Tornados finish in the top twenty five. Melissa Schmidt turned in a time of 12:35.34. Daniel Messer followed in 13:38.43. Hannah Beck crossed the line in 15:04.62. Lenoir-Rhyne’s Kate Griewisch won the race with a 10:19.01 finish.

Brevard returns to competition Saturday, March 13, at Lees-McRae in Banner Elk, N.C. at 9 a.m.